What's on in Parliament

Select a date
Commons sitting days
Lords sitting days

Wednesday 09 December 2015

Print Events

The edited verbatim report of proceedings in the Commons and the Lords on this date can be found in the Official Report (Hansard)

Read the Official Report (Hansard)

Transcripts of select committee evidence sessions that took place on this date are published on the relevant committee's pages.

View the Committee A-Z

Main Chamber

11.30 am

Oral questions

Cabinet Office, including Topical Questions

12.00 pm

Prime Minister's Question Time


Armed Forces Covenant (Implementation) (United Kingdom) Bill - 1st reading - Sammy Wilson

Opposition Day Debate

(i) Mental health (ii) Women and the economy


Kellingley colliery - Yvette Cooper

Westminster Hall

9.30 am - 11.00 am

Westminster Hall debate

Exotic pets trade - Sir Henry Bellingham

11.00 am - 11.30 am

Westminster Hall debate

Tourism in the UK after the Paris attacks - Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger

2.30 pm - 4.00 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Home Office and the case of the Shrewsbury 24 - Steve Rotheram

4.00 pm - 4.30 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Prescription of anti-TNF drugs - Fabian Hamilton

4.30 pm - 5.30 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Electoral integrity and absent votes - Mr Stewart Jackson

General Committees

8.55 am

Second Delegated Legislation Committee

Draft Disclosure of Exporter Information Regulations 2015

Location: Room 9, Palace of Westminster

2.30 pm

Third Delegated Legislation Committee

Draft Payment Accounts Regulations 2015

Location: Room 9, Palace of Westminster

Select Committees

9.30 am

Education - Oral Evidence Session
Recruitment and retention of teachers

Professor John Howson, TeachVac
Martin Thompson, Executive Director, National Association of School-Based Teacher Trainers
Sam Freedman, Executive Director of Programmes, Teach First
James Noble-Rogers, Executive Director, Universities Council for the Education of Teachers
Russell Hobby, General Secretary, NAHT
Kevin Courtney, Deputy General Secretary, National Union of Teachers
Darren Northcott, National Official for Education, NASUWT
Emma Knights, Chief Executive, National Governors' Association
Nick Gibb MP, Minister of State for Schools, Department for Education

Location: The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

9.30 am

High Speed Rail (London-West Midlands) Bill - Oral Evidence Session
High Speed Rail (London-West Midlands) Bill

Albert Street North Residents' Association
Residents of Camden Town
Petitioners from Albert Street
Delancey Street Residents' Association
Petitioners from Delancey Street
Petitioners from Arlington Road
Petitioners from Mornington Court
Petitioners from Mornington Terrace
Petitioners from Mornington Place
Douglas and Marilyn Willis
Residents of Silsoe House
Margaret Percy and others

Location: Room 5, Palace of Westminster

9.45 am

Justice - Oral Evidence Session
Court fees and charges

Sarah Crowther, South Eastern Circuit
Alice Hardy, The Police Action Lawyers Group
Derek Bambury, Forum of Insurance Lawyers
Anthony Abrahams, Director General, Chartered Institue of Arbitrators
Jo Edwards, Chair, Resolution
Carita Thomas, Immigration Law Practitioners' Association

Location: The Grimond Room, Portcullis House

9.45 am

Defence Sub-Committee - Oral Evidence Session
Beyond endurance? Military exercises and the duty of care

Hilary Meredith, Solicitor
Philippa Tuckman, Solicitor

Location: Room 15, Palace of Westminster

2.00 pm

High Speed Rail (London-West Midlands) Bill - Oral Evidence Session
High Speed Rail (London-West Midlands) Bill

As for morning session, unless already heard.

Location: Room 5, Palace of Westminster

2.15 pm

Environmental Audit - Oral Evidence Session
The Government's approach to sustainable development

Rt Hon Oliver Letwin MP, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster
Rory Stewart MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Environment and Rural Affairs

Location: The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

2.15 pm

Culture, Media and Sport - Oral Evidence Session
Establishing World-Class Connectivity Throughout the UK

Sean Williams, Group Director Strategy, Policy and Portfolio, BT Group
Kim Mears, Managing Director Infrastructure Delivery, Openreach
Chris Townsend, Chief Executive, Broadband Delivery UK
Andrew Field, Superfast Broadband Programme Director, Broadband Delivery UK

Location: The Grimond Room, Portcullis House

2.15 pm

Scottish Affairs - Oral Evidence Session
Post-study work schemes

Professor Robert Wright, Professor of Economics, Strathclyde University
Stuart McWilliams, Deputy Convener, Immigration and Asylum Law Sub-Committee, Law Society of Scotland
Jamie Kerr, Convenor, Scottish Regional Working Group, Immigration Law Practitioners’ Association
Rt Hon James Brokenshire MP, Minister for Immigration, Home Office

Location: The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

2.15 pm

Treasury - Oral Evidence Session
Comprehensive Spending Review and Autumn Statement 2015

James Sproule, Chief Economist and Director of Policy, Institute of Directors
Robert Wood, Chief UK Economist, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Simon Kirby, Head of Macroeconomic Modelling and Forecasting, National Institute of Economic and Social Research
Paul Johnson, Director, Institute for Fiscal Studies
James Browne, Senior Research Economist, Institute for Fiscal Studies
Gemma Tetlow, Programme Director, Institute for Fiscal Studies

Location: The Wilson Room, Portcullis House

2.30 pm

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs - Oral Evidence Session
Air quality

Professor Paul Wilkinson, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Professor Martin Williams, King's College London
Professor Mark Sutton, Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, Edinburgh
Simon Birkett, Founder and Director, Clean Air London
Alan Andrews, Lawyer, Health and Environment, and Clean Air Project Leader, ClientEarth

Location: Room 16, Palace of Westminster

2.30 pm

Public Accounts - Oral Evidence Session
Review of Defra's Common Agricultural Policy Delivery Programme

Bronwyn Hill, former Permanent Secretary, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Clare Moriarty, Permanent Secretary, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Mark Grimshaw, Chief Executive, Rural Payments Agency and Senior Responsible Officer for the Common Agricultural Policy Delivery Programme
Liam Maxwell, Government Chief Technology Officer

Location: Room 15, Palace of Westminster

3.30 pm

Welsh Affairs - Oral Evidence Session
Pre-legislative scrutiny of the draft Wales Bill

Rt Hon Stephen Crabb MP, Secretary of State
Geth Williams, Deputy Director, Constitution and Corporate Services, Wales Office
Sue Olley, Legal Adviser, Wales Office

Location: Room 8, Palace of Westminster

Joint Committees

4.00 pm

Human Rights - Oral Evidence Session
The UK Government's policy on the use of drones for targeted killing

Jennifer Gibson, Reprieve
Sir David Omand, Chair, Birmingham Policy Commission
Professor Thomas Simpson, Professor of Philosophy and Public Policy, University of Oxford

4.15 pm

Draft Investigatory Powers Bill - Oral Evidence Session
Draft Investigatory Powers Bill

Mark Hughes, President, BT Security
Hugh Woolford, Director of Operations, Virgin Media
Adam Kinsley, Director of Policy and Public Affairs, Sky
James Blessing, Chair, Internet Service Providers Association
Adrian Kennard, Managing Director, Andrews & Arnold Ltd
Jim Killock, Executive Director, Open Rights Group
Shami Chakrabarti, Director, Liberty
Caroline Wilson Palow, Legal Officer, Privacy International
Renate Sampson, Chief Executive, Big Brother Watch

Show Events from
Main Chamber
Westminster Hall
General Committees
Select Committees
Joint Committees

Share this page