What's on in Parliament

Select a date
Commons sitting days
Lords sitting days

Wednesday 25 January 2017

Print Events

The edited verbatim report of proceedings in the Commons and the Lords on this date can be found in the Official Report (Hansard)

Read the Official Report (Hansard)

Transcripts of select committee evidence sessions that took place on this date are published on the relevant committee's pages.

View the Committee A-Z

Main Chamber

11.30 am

Oral questions


12.00 pm

Prime Minister's Question Time


Town and Country Planning (Electricity Generating Consent) Bill - 1st reading - Tom Blenkinsop

Opposition Day Debate

(i) Prisons (ii) School funding (19th allotted day)


Rifleman Lee Bagley and the MoD duty of care - Mr Adrian Bailey

Westminster Hall

9.30 am - 11.00 am

Westminster Hall debate

Restoration and renewal of the Palace of Westminster - Chris Bryant

11.00 am - 11.30 am

Westminster Hall debate

Photonics industry - Carol Monaghan

2.30 pm - 4.00 pm

Westminster Hall debate

UK relations with West African countries - James Duddridge

4.00 pm - 4.30 pm

Westminster Hall debate

50th Anniversary of the new city of Milton Keynes - Iain Stewart

4.30 pm - 5.30 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Sale of the Green Investment Bank - Michelle Thomson

General Committees

2.30 pm

First Delegated Legislation Committee

Draft Equality Act 2010 (Gender Pay Gap Information) Regulations 2017

Location: Room 9, Palace of Westminster

2.30 pm

Second Delegated Legislation Committee

Draft Trade Union Act 2016 (Political Funds) (Transition Period) Regulations 2017

Location: Room 11, Palace of Westminster

Select Committees

9.15 am

Education - Oral Evidence Session
The impact of exiting the European Union on higher education

Dr Jo Beall, Director Education and Society, British Council
Rosie Birchard, Director of External Relations, Erasmus Student Network UK
Sally Hunt, General Secretary, University and College Union
Sorana Vieru, Vice-President (Higher Education), National Union of Students
Professor Michael Arthur, President and Provost, University College London
Dr Gavan Conlon, Partner and Head of Education and Labour Markets, London Economics
Nicola Dandridge, Chief Executive, Universities UK

9.15 am

Exiting the European Union - Oral Evidence Session
The UK’s negotiating objectives for its withdrawal from the EU

The Hon Fabian Picardo QC MP, Chief Minister, HM Government of Gibraltar
The Hon Dr Joseph Garcia MP, Deputy Chief Minister, HM Government of Gibraltar
Michael Llamas QC, Attorney General, HM Government of Gibraltar

Location: The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

9.30 am

Science and Technology - Oral Evidence Session
Government Office for Science Annual Report 2015-16

Dr Rupert Lewis, Director, Government Office for Science
Professor Sir Mark Walport, Government Chief Scientific Adviser, Government Office for Science

Location: Room 16, Palace of Westminster

9.30 am

Women and Equalities - Oral Evidence Session
Implementation of Sustainable Development Goal 5 in the UK

Lesley Irving, Head of Equality Policy, Scottish Government
Farooq Ullah, Co-Chair, UK Stakeholders for Sustainable Development
Lynn Everson, Immediate Past President, Business and Professional Women UK
Dionne Nelson, Head of Business Development and Innovation, Women's Resource Centre
Dr Carole Easton, Young Women’s Trust
Pragna Patel, Southall Black Sisters
Natasha Walter, Founder and Director, Women for Refugee Women
Katharine Sacks-Jones, Director, Agenda Alliance

Location: The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

10.30 am

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy - Oral Evidence Session
Leaving the EU: energy and climate negotiation priorities

Paul Hallas, Regulation and Strategy Director, Centrica
Kevin Dibble, Director of Strategy and Communications, Engie UK
Phil Sheppard, Director of System Operations, National Grid
Ian Graves, Director of Business Development, National Grid
Martijn van Gemert, Electricity Committee Member, European Federation of Energy Traders

Location: Room 6, Palace of Westminster

2.15 pm

Scottish Affairs - Oral Evidence Session
Scotland and the High North

Professor Rachael Lorna Johnstone, Author and academic
Dr Dwayne Menezes, Director, Polar Research & Policy Initiative
Rod Downie, Polar Programme Manager, WWF–UK

Location: Room 8, Palace of Westminster

2.15 pm

Treasury - Oral Evidence Session
EU Insurance Regulation

Nigel Wilson, Chief Executive Officer, Legal & General
Huw Evans, Director General, ABI
John Parry, Head of Finance, Lloyd’s of London
Julian Adams, Group Regulatory Director, Prudential

Location: The Wilson Room, Portcullis House

2.15 pm

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs - Oral Evidence Session
Rural tourism

Paul Forecast, Director, Eastern England, National Trust
Martin Lane, Director, Cotswold Conservation Board
Sarah Fowler, Chief Executive, Peak District National Park Authority
Kate Conto, Senior Policy Officer, The Ramblers
Roger Geffen, Director, Cycling UK
Mark Weston, Director of Access, British Horse Society

Location: The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

2.15 pm

Home Affairs - Oral Evidence Session
Implications of the UK’s exit from the European Union

Andrew Baxter, Managing Director, Europa Worldwide Logistics
Graeme Charnock, Chief Financial Officer, Peel Ports Group
James Hookham, Deputy Chief Executive, Freight Transport Association
Jack Semple, Policy Director, Road Haulage Association

Location: The Grimond Room, Portcullis House

2.30 pm

Public Accounts - Oral Evidence Session
HMRC's contract with Concentrix

Jon Thompson, Chief Executive and Permanent Secretary, HMRC
Nick Lodge, Director General Transformation, HMRC
Philip Cassidy, Senior Vice President, Concentrix
Mark Oatridge, Commercial Manager, Concentrix

3.00 pm

Public Accounts - Oral Evidence Session
The HMRC Estate

Jon Thompson, Chief Executive and Permanent Secretary, HM Revenue and Customs
Justin Holliday, Chief Finance Officer, HM Revenue and Customs
Sherin Aminossehe, Executive Director, Government Property Unit

Joint Committees

3.15 pm

Human Rights - Oral Evidence Session
Human Rights and Business 2017: Promoting responsibility and ensuring accountability

Rob Billington, Director, Group Production and Sourcing, Mulberry
Mike Barry, Director, Sustainable Business, Marks and Spencer
Nick Beighton, Chief Executive, ASOS
Chris Grayer, Manager, Global Code of Practice, Next

Location: Room 5, Palace of Westminster

Show Events from
Main Chamber
Westminster Hall
General Committees
Select Committees
Joint Committees

Share this page