What's on in Parliament

Select a date
Commons sitting days
Lords sitting days

Wednesday 24 January 2018

Print Events

The edited verbatim report of proceedings in the Commons and the Lords on this date can be found in the Official Report (Hansard)

Read the Official Report (Hansard)

Transcripts of select committee evidence sessions that took place on this date are published on the relevant committee's pages.

View the Committee A-Z

Main Chamber Click here to watch

11.30 am

Oral questions


12.00 pm

Prime Minister's Question Time

12.30 pm

Urgent question

David Meller remaining a non-executive director of Department for Education following revelations about the men’s only Presidents dinner - Jess Phillips

Ten Minute Rule Motion

Multi-Employer Pension Schemes - Alan Brown

Opposition Day Debate

Refugees and human rights - Jeremy Corbyn

Opposition Day Debate

Carillion and the sustainability of the public sector outsourcing model - Jeremy Corbyn


South Eastern rail franchise - Matthew Pennycook

Westminster Hall

9.30 am - 11.00 am

Westminster Hall debate

Size and strength of the British armed forces - Leo Docherty

11.00 am - 11.30 am

Westminster Hall debate

Public transport on Boxing Day 2018 - John Grogan

2.30 pm - 4.00 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Application of the pubs code 2016 - Mr Adrian Bailey

4.00 pm - 4.30 pm

Westminster Hall debate

RBS closures in Argyle and Bute - Brendan O'Hara

4.30 pm - 5.30 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Public consultations on Heathrow airport - Sir Vince Cable

General Committees

2.30 pm

Third Delegated Legislation Committee

To consider the draft Armed Forces Act 2006 (Amendment of Schedule 2) Order 2017

Location: Room 9, Palace of Westminster

2.30 pm

Fourth Delegated Legislation Committee

To consider the draft Community Infrastructure Levy (Amendment) Regulations 2018

Location: Room 11, Palace of Westminster

Select Committees

9.15 am

Exiting the European Union - Oral Evidence Session
The progress of the UK’s negotiations on EU withdrawal

Rt Hon David Davis MP, Secretary of State, Department for Exiting the European Union

Location: The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

9.30 am

Work and Pensions - Oral Evidence Session
Universal Credit

Jeane Freeman MSP, Minister for Social Security, Scottish Government
Dawn Abell, Social Security Policy Team Leader, Scottish Government
Stephen Kerr, Social Security Director, Scottish Government
Alok Sharma MP, Minister for Employment, Department for Work and Pensions
Neil Couling CBE, Director, Universal Credit Programme, Department for Work and Pensions

Location: Room 5, Palace of Westminster

9.30 am

Defence Sub-Committee - Oral Evidence Session
UK Defence in the Arctic

Professor Eric Grove
Dr James Jinks
Colonel Professor John Andreas Olsen

Location: The Grimond Room, Portcullis House

9.30 am

Northern Ireland Affairs - Oral Evidence Session
Devolution and democracy in Northern Ireland – dealing with the deficit

David Sterling, Head of the Northern Ireland Civil Service
Hugh Widdis, Permanent Secretary of the Department for Finance, Northern Ireland Executive

Location: Room 8, Palace of Westminster

9.50 am

Women and Equalities - Oral Evidence Session
Older people and employment

Tom Hadley, Director of Policy, Recuitment and Employment Confederation
Jane Shepherd, National Education Officer, UNISON
Teresa Donegan, Head of Learning and Organising Services, UNISON
Ben Willmott, Head of Public Policy, CIPD
Ruby Peacock, Deputy Head of Public Affairs, Federation of Small Businesses

Location: Room 15, Palace of Westminster

10.00 am

Justice - Oral Evidence Session
HM Inspectorate of Prisons report on HMP Liverpool

Pia Sinha, Governor, HMP Liverpool
Michael Spurr, Chief Executive, HM Prisons and Probation Service
Kevin Miller, Director of Facilities Management, Amey
Kate Davies, Director of Health & Justice, Armed Forces and Sexual Assault Services Commissioning, NHS England
Julie Dhuny, Head of Commissioning, Health and Justice, North Region, NHS England
Rory Stewart MP, Minister of State, Ministry of Justice
Michael Spurr, Chief Executive, HM Prisons and Probation Service

Location: Room 6, Palace of Westminster

10.00 am

International Trade - Oral Evidence Session
Continuing application of EU trade agreements

Guillaume Van der Loo, Researcher at the Ghent European Law Institute (GELI)
Steven Blockmans, Senior Research Fellow and Head of EU Foreign Policy Unit, Centre for European Policy Studies, Brussels
Silvia Merler, Affiliate Fellow at Bruegel, Brussels
The Rt Hon Greg Hands, Minister of State for Trade Policy

Location: The Wilson Room, Portcullis House

2.15 pm

Treasury - Oral Evidence Session
HM Treasury Annual Report and Accounts

Tom Scholar, Permanent Secretary, HM Treasury
Sophie Dean, Finance Director, HM Treasury
Charles Roxburgh, Second Permanent Secretary, HM Treasury

Location: The Wilson Room, Portcullis House

2.30 pm

Public Accounts - Oral Evidence Session
Decline in National Lottery income

Sue Owen, Permanent Secretary, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
Sarah Harrison, Chief Executive, Gambling Commission
Nigel Railton, Chief Executive, Camelot
Dawn Austwick, Chief Executive, Big Lottery Fund

Location: The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

Joint Committees

3.15 pm

Human Rights - Oral Evidence Session
Freedom of Speech in Universities

Aarti Thakor, Head of Legal Compliance, Charity Commission for England and Wales
Michelle Russell, Director of Investigations, Monitoring and Enforcement, Charity Commission for England and Wales
Sir Michael Barber, Chair, Office for Students

Location: Other - Committee Room 1

Show Events from
Main Chamber
Westminster Hall
General Committees
Select Committees
Joint Committees

Share this page