What's on in Parliament

Select a date
Commons sitting days
Lords sitting days

Wednesday 04 July 2018

Print Events

The edited verbatim report of proceedings in the Commons and the Lords on this date can be found in the Official Report (Hansard)

Read the Official Report (Hansard)

Transcripts of select committee evidence sessions that took place on this date are published on the relevant committee's pages.

View the Committee A-Z

Main Chamber

11.30 am

Oral questions

International Development (including Topical Questions)

12.00 pm

Prime Minister's Question Time

Urgent question

Imminent demolition of Khan Al-Ahmar - Richard Burden

Ministerial statement

Sustainable fisheries for future generations - Michael Gove

Presentation of Bill

Rail Passenger (Compensation) - Bim Afolami

Ten Minute Rule Motion

International Development (Safeguarding Vulnerable Groups) - Stephen Twigg


Proceedings on the Supply and Appropriation (Main Estimates) Bill - 2nd and 3rd readings


Ivory Bill - remaining stages

Opposition Day Debate

Claim of Right for Scotland - in the name of the Scottish National Party - Ian Blackford, Kirsty Blackman, Tommy Sheppard, Deidre Brock, Pete Wishart, Patrick Grady


NHS complaints system in Wales - Ann Clwyd

Westminster Hall

9.30 am - 11.00 am

Westminster Hall debate

Speech, language and communication support for children - Rebecca Pow

11.00 am - 11.30 am

Westminster Hall debate

Management of NHS property - Karin Smyth

2.30 pm - 4.00 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Tackling demand for commercial sexual exploitation - Sarah Champion

4.00 pm - 4.30 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Incitement in the Palestinian education system - Joan Ryan

4.30 pm - 5.30 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Five-year land supply - James Cartlidge

General Committees

9.30 am

Public Bill Committee

Parliamentary Constituencies (Amendment) Bill - 8th sitting

Location: Room 11, Palace of Westminster

2.30 pm

Second Delegated Legislation Committee

Draft Financial Services and Markets Act 2000 (Regulated Activities) (Amendment) Order 2018 and the draft Electronic Presentment of Instruments (Evidence of Payment and Compensation for Loss) Regulations 2018

Location: Room 9, Palace of Westminster

2.30 pm

Sixth Delegated Legislation Committee

Draft Companies (Miscellaneous Reporting) Regulations 2018

Location: Room 12, Palace of Westminster

Select Committees

9.30 am

Oral Evidence Session

Lord Gardiner of Kimble, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Rural Affairs and Biosecurity
Mark Casale, Deputy Director Animal Welfare and Exotic Disease Control, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Location: Room 8, Palace of Westminster

9.30 am

Oral Evidence Session

Rob Holland, Co-Chair, Disability Benefit Consortium and Public Affairs Manager, Mencap
Gemma Hope, Director of Policy, Marketing and Communications, Shaw Trust
Daphne Hall, Vice Chair, National Association of Welfare Rights Advisors
Afzal Rahman, Senior Policy Researcher, Citizens Advice
Daniel Norris, Welfare Rights Adviser, Early Warning System, Child Poverty Action Group
Sam Royston, Director of Policy, Research and Public Affairs, The Children’s Society

Location: The Grimond Room, Portcullis House

9.30 am

Oral Evidence Session

Rt Hon Karen Bradley MP, Secretary of State for Northern Ireland
Colin Perry, Director of Change, Economy and Legacy, Northern Ireland Office
Chris Flatt, Deputy Director, Legacy Group, Northern Ireland Office

Location: The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

9.35 am

Oral Evidence Session

17 - George and Helen Dyke and Ms Sarah Dyke, Petitioners
26 - Mr Edward Nield, Petitioner
53 - Richard and Alison Williams and Jeffrey and Sheila Thornhill, Petitioners
15 - The Executors of J S Sampson (Deceased), Petitioners
24 - David, Fiona, Monty and Gwen Wright t/a H G Wright, Petitioners
27 - Philip and Sue Proudlove, Petitioners
39 and AP1/30 - E W H Moore Partnership, Petitioners
AP1/33 - Mr J R Davies, Miss M J Davies and Mr David Hollinshead, Petitioners

Location: Room 5, Palace of Westminster

10.00 am

Speaker's Advisory Committee on Works of Art - Oral Evidence Session

Fadi Hakura, Associate Fellow, Europe Programme, Chatham House
Dr Hasan Turunç, Director, TUSIAD London Representative Office
Dr Andrew Grainger, Trade Facilitation Consulting
Tim Morris, Chief Executive, UK Major Ports Group Ltd
Nick Platts, Head of Cargo, Heathrow Airport

Location: The Wilson Room, Portcullis House

10.15 am

Oral Evidence Session

Victoria Atkins MP, Minister for Women

Location: Room 6, Palace of Westminster

2.05 pm

Oral Evidence Session

As for morning session unless already heard

Location: Room 5, Palace of Westminster

2.15 pm

Oral Evidence Session

Director Donald Toon, Prosperity Command, National Crime Agency
Mark Thompson, Interim Director, Serious Fraud Office

Location: The Grimond Room, Portcullis House

2.30 pm

Oral Evidence Session

Mark Burdon, Regional Representative, North East and Cumbria, Pharmaceutical Services Negotiating Committee
Warwick Smith, Director General, British Association of Generic Manufacturers
Professor Karim Meeran, Deputy Director of Medical Education, Imperial College
Sir Chris Wormald, Permanent Secretary, Department of Health and Social Care
Steve Oldfield, Chief Commercial Officer, Department of Health and Social Care
Dr Bruce Warner, Deputy Chief Pharmaceutical Officer, NHS England
Dr Ian Hudson, Chief Executive, Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency

Location: The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

2.40 pm

Oral Evidence Session

Becca, Member of Youth Select Committee 2017
Sienna, nominated by the National Children's Bureau
Bethan, nominated by the National Children's Bureau
Orlaith, nominated by Barnardo's
Jack, nominated by Kidscape

Location: Room 8, Palace of Westminster

3.15 pm

Oral Evidence Session

David Geale, Director of Policy, FCA
Martin Etheridge, Head of Note Operations, Bank of England
David Raw, Deputy Director Banking and Credit, HM Treasury

Location: The Grimond Room, Portcullis House

Joint Committees

No business scheduled

Show Events from
Main Chamber
Westminster Hall
General Committees
Select Committees
Joint Committees

Share this page

Version: 2020.1.5.0