What's on in Parliament

Select a date
Commons sitting days
Lords sitting days

Tuesday 22 October 2019

Print Events

The edited verbatim report of proceedings in the Commons and the Lords on this date can be found in the Official Report (Hansard)

Read the Official Report (Hansard)

Transcripts of select committee evidence sessions that took place on this date are published on the relevant committee's pages.

View the Committee A-Z

Main Chamber

Oral Questions

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (including topical questions)

11.30 am

Oral questions

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (including Topical Questions)

Urgent question

British children trapped in Syria - Mr David Davis


European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Bill: second reading

Programme Motion

European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Bill - Steve Barclay


European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Bill: Committee


Decommissioning of the former SSI steelworks site - Anna Turley

Westminster Hall

No business scheduled

General Committees

2.30 pm

Eighth Delegated Legislation Committee

draft Insolvency (Amendment) (EU Exit) (No. 2) Regulations 2019

Location: Room 9, Palace of Westminster

2.30 pm

Ninth Delegated Legislation Committee

draft Waste and Environmental Protection (Amendment) (Northern Ireland) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019

Location: Room 11, Palace of Westminster

Select Committees

9.15 am

Oral Evidence Session

Chris Skidmore MP, Minister of State for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
Paul Drabwell, Deputy Director, Place, Impact and Research, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
Harriet Wallace, Director, International Research and Innovation, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Location: Room 6, Palace of Westminster

9.15 am

Oral Evidence Session

Hemione Hudson, Head of Audit, PwC
Paul Cragg, Audit Partner, PwC
Christabel Cowling, Head of Regulatory and Public Policy, EY
Richard Wilson, Audit Partner, EY
Martin McTague, Policy Director, FSB
Manuel Cortes, General Secretary, TSSA
Diana Holland, Assistant General Secretary, Unite
Richard Piggin, Head of External Affairs, Which?

Location: The Wilson Room, Portcullis House

9.45 am

Oral Evidence Session

Dr Paul Seaward, British Academy/Wolfson Research Professor, History of Parliament Research
Lord Lisvane, Clerk of the House (2011-2014)
Natascha Engel, former Deputy Speaker
Lord Young, former Leader of the House
Professor Lord Norton, Professor of Government and Director of the Centre for Legislative Studies University of Hull
Dr Ruth Fox, Director and Head of Research, Hansard Society
Dr Hannah White, Deputy Director, Institute for Government

Location: Room 8, Palace of Westminster

10.00 am

Oral Evidence Session

Lucy Frazer QC MP, Minister of State, Ministry of Justice
Adrian Scott, Executive Director of Change, Planning and Strategy, HM Prison and Probation Service

Location: Room 16, Palace of Westminster

10.15 am

Oral Evidence Session

Sir Malcolm Jack KCB, former Clerk of the House of Commons
Ms Eve Samson, Principal Clerk, House of Commons
Lord Tyrie, former Chair of the House of Commons Treasury and Liaison Committees and the Parliamentary Commission on Banking Standards

Location: Room 5, Palace of Westminster

10.30 am

Oral Evidence Session

Jim Harra, Interim Chief Executive, HM Revenue and Customs
Penny Ciniewicz, Director General, Customer Compliance, HM Revenue and Customs
Ruth Stanier, Director General, Customer Strategy and Tax Design, HM Revenue and Customs

Location: The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

2.30 pm

Oral Evidence Session

Foluke Ajayi, Chief Operating Officer, University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Foundation Trust
Emma Greenwood, Director of Policy and Public Affairs, Cancer Research UK
Chris Hopson, Chief Executive, NHS Providers
Anita Charlesworth CBE, Director of Research and Economics, Health Foundation
Sally Gainsbury, Senior Policy Analyst, Nuffield Trust
Sir Robert Naylor, Chair of independent review on the NHS estate
Simon Stevens, Chief Executive, NHS England and NHS Improvement
Rt Hon Matt Hancock MP, Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, Department of Health and Social Care
David Williams, Director General of Finance, Department for Health and Social Care

Location: Room 8, Palace of Westminster

2.45 pm

Oral Evidence Session

Heather Wheeler MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Martin Harris, Director, Eastern Europe and Central Asia
Kate White, Director, Asia-Pacific Directorate, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Location: Room 6, Palace of Westminster

Joint Committees

No business scheduled

Show Events from
Main Chamber
Westminster Hall
General Committees
Select Committees
Joint Committees

Share this page

Version: 2020.1.3.0