What's on in Parliament

Select a date

Tuesday 29 October 2019

Print Events

The edited verbatim report of proceedings in the Commons and the Lords on this date can be found in the Official Report (Hansard)

Read the Official Report (Hansard)

Transcripts of select committee evidence sessions that took place on this date are published on the relevant committee's pages.

View the Committee A-Z

Main Chamber

11.30 am

Oral questions

Health and Social Care (including Topical Questions)

Urgent question

Workers’ rights after Brexit - Laura Pidcock


Early Parliamentary General Election Bill: Business of the House - Boris Johnson


Early Parliamentary General Election Bill: Second Reading (Committee of the Whole House and Third Reading may also be taken)


Mining of minerals in Barford - Matt Western

Westminster Hall

9.30 am

Westminster Hall debate

Proposed reinstatement of the Colne to Skipton railway link - Graham P Jones

11.00 am

Westminster Hall debate

Funding of Liverpool City Council - Stephen Twigg

2.30 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Endometriosis workplace support - Alec Shelbrooke

4.00 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Bus services in Cumbria - Tim Farron

4.30 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Government support for economy and innovation in Northern Ireland - Emma Little Pengelly

General Committees

8.55 am

Eighth Delegated Legislation Committee

Welfare of Animals at the Time of Killing (England and Northern Ireland) (Amendment) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019 (S.I., 2019, No. 1308)

Location: Room 9, Palace of Westminster

8.55 am

Ninth Delegated Legislation Committee

INSPIRE (Amendment) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019 (S.I., 2019, No. 1352)

Location: Room 11, Palace of Westminster

9.25 am

Public Bill Committee

Domestic Abuse Bill: 1st sitting

Location: The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

2.30 pm

Public Bill Committee

Domestic Abuse Bill: 2nd sitting

Location: The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

Select Committees

9.30 am

Oral Evidence Session

Professor Jane Eddleston, Joint Group Medical Director, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust
Professor Nigel Brunskill, Director of Research and Innovation, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust
Mark Cranmer, Director, Joint Research and Enterprise Services, St George’s, University of London and St George's University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Professor Rupert Pearse, Clinical Director of Research and Development, Queen Mary University of London and Barts Health NHS Trust
Dr Síle Lane, Head of International Campaigns and Policy, Sense about Science
Dr Martin O'Kane, Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency, Head of Clinical Trials Unit
Dr Fiona Godlee, Editor in Chief, British Medical Journal
Juliet Tizzard, Director of Policy, Health Research Authority
Professor Sir Terence Stephenson, Chair, Health Research Authority

Location: Room 6, Palace of Westminster

10.15 am

Oral Evidence Session

Sam Ulyatt, Buildings Pillar Director, Crown Commercial Services
Janet Young, Government Chief Property Officer, Office for Government Property
Gareth Rhys Williams, Chief Commercial Officer, Government Commercial Function
Rt Hon. Kwasi Kwarteng, Minister of State for Business, Energy and Clean Growth
Simon Hart, Minister for Implementation, Cabinet Office

Location: The Grimond Room, Portcullis House

1.30 pm

Oral Evidence Session

Andrew Stephenson MP, Minister of State and Minister for Africa, Department for International Development
Emma Spicer, Head of Education Policy Team
Mary Hunt, Africa Regional Head, Department for International Development

Location: The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

2.00 pm

Oral Evidence Session

Gavin Wishart, Chair, Association of Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems (ARPAS-UK)
Tony Burnell, CEO, METIS Aerospace Ltd
Paul Everitt, CEO, ADS
Professor Iain Gray, Chair, Drone Industry Action Group
Giles York, Chief Constable, Sussex Police

Location: The Wilson Room, Portcullis House

2.15 pm

Oral Evidence Session

Rt. Hon Theresa Villiers, Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Tamara Finkelstein, Permanent Secretary, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Sonia Phippard, Director General for Environment, Rural and Marine

Location: Room 5, Palace of Westminster

2.30 pm

Oral Evidence Session

Professor Dame Sally Davies, Former Chief Medical Officer
Duncan Selbie, Chief Executive, Public Health England
Dr Alison Tedstone, Chief Nutritionist, Public Health England
Caroline Cerney, Alliance Lead, Obesity Health Alliance
Professor Susan Jebb, Professor of Diet and Population Health, University of Oxford
Nigel Adams MP, Minister for Sport, Media and Creative Industries, Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport
Jo Churchill MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Prevention, Public Health and Primary Care, Department of Health and Social Care
Jenny Oldroyd, Deputy Director, Obesity, Food and Nutrition, Department of Health and Social Care
Viscount Younger, Minister for Faith and Communities, Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
Andrew McCully, Director General for Early Years and Schools, Department for Education

Location: The Grimond Room, Portcullis House

2.45 pm

Oral Evidence Session

Raoul Ruparel, Former Special Adviser to the Prime Minister on Europe
Philip Rycroft CB, Former Permanent Secretary, Department for Exiting the EU
Florian Eder, Brussels Playbook Editor, Politico
Sir Oliver Robbins, Cabinet Office

Location: Room 16, Palace of Westminster

Joint Committees

No business scheduled

Show Events from

Share this page

Version: 2020.12.2.0