What's on in Parliament

Select a date
Commons sitting days
Lords sitting days

Tuesday 02 April 2019

Print Events

The edited verbatim report of proceedings in the Commons and the Lords on this date can be found in the Official Report (Hansard)

Read the Official Report (Hansard)

Transcripts of select committee evidence sessions that took place on this date are published on the relevant committee's pages.

View the Committee A-Z

Main Chamber Click here to watch

11.30 am

Oral questions

Foreign and Commonwealth Office (including Topical Questions)

Ten Minute Rule Motion

Banknote Diversity - Mrs Helen Grant


First Report from the Committee of Privileges - Andrea Leadsom

Consideration of Lords message

Mental Capacity (Amendment) Bill [Lords]


To approve a Statutory Instrument relating to the draft Geo-Blocking Regulation (Revocation) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019 - Greg Clark


Reform of business rates - Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown

Westminster Hall

9.30 am

Westminster Hall debate

Further education funding - Richard Graham

11.00 am

Westminster Hall debate

Effect of the tapered annual allowance on NHS pension scheme members - Paul Masterton

2.30 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Youth inmates in solitary confinement - Emma Hardy

4.00 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Treatment for pancreatic cancer - Nic Dakin

4.30 pm

Westminster Hall debate

Puppy smuggling - Nigel Huddleston

General Committees

2.30 pm

Second Delegated Legislation Committee

Draft Electricity Capacity (No. 1) Regulations 2019

Location: Room 9, Palace of Westminster

Select Committees

9.30 am

Science and Technology - Oral Evidence Session
Technologies for meeting Clean Growth emissions reduction targets

Dr Nina Skorupska, Chief Executive, Renewable Energy Association
Tom Greatrex, Chief Executive, Nuclear Industry Association
Professor Keith Bell, University of Strathclyde
Dr Robert Gross, Imperial College London
Randolph Brazier, Head of Innovation & Development, Energy Networks Association
Duncan Burt, Director of Operations, National Grid System Operator
Professor Nick Eyre, Director, Centre for Research into Energy Demand Solutions
Professor Tim Green, Co-Director, Imperial College Energy Futures Lab

Location: The Wilson Room, Portcullis House

10.00 am

Education - Oral Evidence Session
Fourth Industrial Revolution

Minister Liang-Gee Chen, Taiwan Ministry of Science and Technology
Professor Yuh-Jzer Joung, Director General, Science and Technology Policy Research and Information Centre
Professor Jiun-Huei Proty Wu, Director of Science and Technology, Taipei Representative Office in the UK
Yun-Nung (Vivian) Chen, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science and Information Engineering, National Taiwan University

Location: Room 15, Palace of Westminster

10.00 am

Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs - Oral Evidence Session
Governance of Official Statistics

Sir David Norgrove, Chair, UK Statistics Authority
John Pullinger, National Statistician, UK Statistics Authority
Ed Humpherson, Director General for Regulation, UK Statistics Authority

Location: Room 19, Palace of Westminster

10.00 am

Justice - Oral Evidence Session
The work of the Solicitor General

Robert Buckland QC MP, Solicitor General

Location: Room 18, Palace of Westminster

10.00 am

Treasury - Oral Evidence Session
Economic Crime

Mark Tingey, Head of Financial Crime Operations, Metro Bank
Ruth Evans, Independent Chair, Authorised Push Payments Scams Steering Group
Richard Lloyd, Advisor, Authorised Push Payments Scams Steering Group

Location: The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

10.15 am

Environmental Audit - Oral Evidence Session
Planetary health

Sir Patrick Vallance, Government Chief Scientific Advisor
Professor Chris Whitty, Chief Scientific Adviser, Department of Health and Social Care
Professor Ian Boyd, Chief Scientific Advisor, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Professor Charlotte Watts, Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for International Development
Professor Phil Blythe, Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for Transport
Dr Thérèse Coffey MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for the Environment, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
David Rutley MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Kit Malthouse MP, Minister of State for Housing, Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
Jonathan Marron, Director General, Community and Social Care, Department for Health and Social Care
Professor Paul Cosford, Director of Health Protection and Medical Director, Public Health England

Location: Room 8, Palace of Westminster

10.15 am

Scottish Affairs - Oral Evidence Session
Access to Financial Services

Eric Leenders, Managing Director, Personal Finance, UK Finance
Ron Delnevo, Executive Director, Europe, ATMIA
John Howells, Chief Executive, LINK

Location: Room 16, Palace of Westminster

10.30 am

Digital, Culture, Media and Sport - Oral Evidence Session
Immersive and addictive technologies

Neil McClarty, VP, Growth and Product Services, Jagex
Kelvin Plomer, Director of Player Experience, Jagex

Location: The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

11.00 am

Defence - Oral Evidence Session
Global Islamist Terrorism

Rt Hon Mark Lancaster TD MP, Minister of State for the Armed Forces
Lt Doug Chalmers, Deputy Chief of Defence Staff (Military Strategy and Operations)
Rt Hon Ben Wallace MP, Security Minister
Chris Felton, Head of Joint International Counter Terrorism Unit (JICTU), Home Office

Location: The Grimond Room, Portcullis House

2.15 pm

International Development - Oral Evidence Session
Humanitarian response to Cyclone Idai

Debbie Hillier, Senior Humanitarian Policy Adviser, Oxfam
Ben Webster, Head of Emergencies, British Red Cross
Harriett Baldwin MP, Minister of State for Africa at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and Minister of State for International Development
Tim Stern, Head of the Africa Regional Department, Department for International Development

Location: Room 16, Palace of Westminster

2.30 pm

Foreign Affairs - Oral Evidence Session
Global Britain: the future of UK sanctions policy

Maya Lester QC

Location: The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

2.45 pm

Health and Social Care - Oral Evidence Session
NHS Long-term Plan: legislative proposals

Professor Katherine Checkland, Professor of Health Policy and Primary Care, University of Manchester
Richard Murray, Chief Executive, The King's Fund
Nigel Edwards, Chief Executive, Nuffield Trust
Simon Stevens, Chief Executive
Ian Dodge, National Director: Strategy and Innovation, NHS England
and Ian Dalton, Chief Executive
Ben Dyson, Executive Director of Strategy, NHS Improvement

Location: The Wilson Room, Portcullis House

Joint Committees

10.45 am

Draft Domestic Abuse Bill - Oral Evidence Session
Draft Domestic Abuse Bill

Lucy Hadley, Campaigns and Public Affairs Officer, Women’s Aid
Andrea Simon, Public Affairs Manager, End Violence Against Women
Ellie Butt, Senior Policy and Public Affairs Manager, Refuge
Karla McLaren Government and Political Relations Manager, Amnesty International
Olive Craig, Senior Legal Officer, Rights of Women
Rachel Robinson, Principal, Justice Domain, Equality and Human Rights Commission

Location: Room 20, Palace of Westminster

Show Events from
Main Chamber
Westminster Hall
General Committees
Select Committees
Joint Committees

Share this page